Geoff Bugden – Professional footballer, Detective and Pecan Farmer – Yes there is a career for everyone in agriculture

I spend my life spruiking there is a career in agriculture for everyone from A to Z no matter what stage of your career you are at. Tonight I found myself sitting at dinner with two ex policemen turned farmers. One growing avocados and the other pecans.

I have done many agriculture career pathway profiles  in my life but nothing comes close to Geoff Bugden  

Geoff who is now a proud pecan farmer began his working life as a boilermaker, then a professional footballer playing first grade with Newtown  followed by 140 first grade games with Parramatta and numerous State of Origin appearances, followed by 12 years as a Detective in the police force  and now a proud farmer

Having never laughed so much in my entire life – he certainly could have had a career as a comedian

“Farming, requires commitment whether there is leaf on the tree or not.” Geoff Bugden Pecan Farmer 

glynne-strong-and-geoff-bugden

Geoff Bugden- boiler maker, 1st grade rugby league player, Detective, Pecan Farmer and the funniest man you will ever have at your dinner table  

and to top it all up I got to meet the legendary Glenn Morris who recently rode his horse across the harbour bridge in support of Native Vegetation and present with NSW Young Australian of the Year finalist Anika Molesworth

anika-glenn-and-lynne

Anika Molesworth Glenn Morris and Lynne Strong 

Avatar

Author: Lynne Strong

I am a 6th generation farmer who loves surrounding myself with optimistic, courageous people who believe in inclusion, diversity and equality and embrace the power of collaboration. I am the founder of Picture You in Agriculture. Our team design and deliver programs that inspire pride in Australian agriculture and support young people to thrive in business and life

One thought on “Geoff Bugden – Professional footballer, Detective and Pecan Farmer – Yes there is a career for everyone in agriculture”

Comments are closed.

Discover more from Clover Hill Diaries - Join Me and Be the Change

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading